Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees currently comprises 14 Trustees.

  • Jonathan Wood GB, Chair
  • Ann Ryan Robertson Americas, Deputy Chair
  • Michael Tonkin, Honorary Treasurer, Middle East and Indian Sub-continent
  • Arran Dowling-Hussey, Ireland
  • Anthony Houghton East Asia
  • Anthony Marks, GB
  • Richard Hamilton Morris GB
  • Marion Smith QC, GB
  • Christopher Ojo Africa
  • Axel Reeg Europe
  • Peter Rees QC, GB
  • Alexander John Wakefield, Australasia

  • James Bridgeman (ex-officio)
  • Jane Gunn (ex-officio)

The President and Chairman of the Board of Management are ex-officio but non-voting Trustees.

The elected Trustees serve for up to two four-year terms, with elections being held on a biennial rotating basis. The next election year is 2018.

Elected Trustees take up office from 1 January in the year following their election. The maximum continuous period a Trustee can serve for is 8 years, after which they must wait at least two years before standing for re-election.

The Board of Trustees elect a Chairman of the Board and an Honorary Treasurer on an annual basis.

The elected members of the Board of Trustees are trustees for the membership as a whole (i.e. not regionally representational) and are not permitted to hold any other office nor take up any other appointment within the Institute, while serving as a Trustee.

The Board of Trustees meet twice a year (Spring and Autumn), and every alternate year the Board of Trustees Autumn meeting coincides with the holding of Congress.