The CIArb website uses cookies to give you the best possible experience. By continuing, we will assume you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. More information on cookies can be found on our privacy page.

002 European Branch

The branch's geographical area includes European countries as listed below.

There are three Chapters of the Branch: The Baltic States, Germany and The Netherlands.

Contact details

The current Chair is Bennar Balkaya, who is based in Turkey.

The Branch Secretary is John Riordan who is based in the Netherlands.

For more information please contact the Branch Treasurer.



The European Branch of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, established in 1992, is one of the Institute's largest branches, both geographically and in terms of the number of members. The branch covers all of continental Europe and has approximately 465 members.

It is the branch's breadth and diversity that places it in a unique position among the continent's other professional organisations in the arbitration and mediation field. The European Branch of CIArb is the only organisation in the field of ADR offering its members opportunities for training and networking across Europe and the chance to share their experiences.

At once a year, the branch holds a conference in a different European city, bringing together ADR professionals from a variety of backgrounds and offering excellent networking opportunities. The branch established its first chapter in The Netherlands in 2003, and further chapters have been formed in the Baltic region and in Germany. The formation of other chapters is currently being considered in a number of locations, and the branch is also active in promoting the Institute's interests in Eastern Europe.

The branch's cosmopolitan nature is reflected in the composition of its committee. The Chairman is based in Turkey, the Secretary and the Treasurer are based in The Netherlands. Other members of the committee are based in Austria, Germany, France, Latvia, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, and The Netherlands.

Countries covered by the European branch

There are 37 European countries covered by the branch, though there are some countries are unrepresented by Institute members.

Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canary Islands, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia & Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine.

Last Updated: 26 June 2013


Coming up