Skip to main content

Policy News

APPG on ADR: Public Sector ADR and AGM

Tuesday 14 February 2017

The audio recording of the sixth and final work programme session of the first year of activity of the All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on alternative dispute resolution (ADR) is now available.

Listen to the recording on the CIArb YouTube channel

This session held on 30 January 2017 at the Houses of Parliament in London, provided an overview of public sector ADR, current trends in the sector and how these forms of ADR relate to each other and the courts. 

The speakers included:

  • Donal Galligan, Director, Ombudsman Association
  • David Liddle, CEO, TCM Group
  • Graham Massie, Chief Operating Officer, CEDR
  • John Pugh-Smith, 39 Essex Chambers
  • Chris Reeves, Founder, Mediation for Construction
  • Caroline Sheppard, Chief Adjudicator, Traffic Penalty Tribunal
  • James Walker, CEO, Resolver
  • Chris Wilford, CIArb Head of Policy, Public Affairs and Research

This session also included the AGM with new officers proposed and elected:

  • Chair: John Howell MP (Conservative)
  • Vice-Chair: Christina Rees MP (Labour)
  • Vice-Chair: Robert Neill MP (Conservative)
  • Treasurer: George Kerevan MP (Scottish National Party)
  • Officer: Nick Thomas-Symonds MP (Labour)
  • Officer: Jeff Smith MP (Labour)
  • Officer: Alberto Costa MP (Conservative)

Documents from the meeting, provided by the APPG 

All-Party Parliamentary Group on Alternative Dispute Resolution 

Chair and Registered Contact: 
John Howell MP
House of Commons
London, SW1A 0AA
T: +44 (0)20 7219 6676

Public Enquiry Point:
Chris Wilford
Chartered Institute of Arbitrators
12 Bloomsbury Square
London WC1A 2LP
T: +44 (0)20 7421 7485

This is not an official website [or feed] of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees. All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in these webpages are those of the group.