Board of Management

The Board of Management currently comprises 14 members.

There shall not be more than 15 members of the Board of Management, which shall consist of such members of the Board of Trustees, the members of the Institute and Executive Officers as the Board of Trustees shall determine by regulation but it shall normally include:

  • Marion Smith FCIArb - Co Chair
  • Marcus Cato FCIArb - Co Chair
  • Bennar Aydoğdu MCIArb, Chair, Education and Membership Committee
  • Dr Karen Akinci FCIArb, Chair, Practice and Standards Committee
  • Judge Billie Colombaro FCIArb, Chair, Examinations Board
  • Robert Sliwinski C.Arb FCIArb, Chair, Panels Management Group
  • Laura West MCIArb, Chair, Young Members’ Group
  • Leonora Riesenburg FCIArb
  • Bernard Fleming MCIArb
  • Matthew Drake FCIArb
  • Amb. (r.) David Huebner C.Arb FCIArb, Honorary Treasurer
  • Catherine Dixon, Director General

2021 President: Ann Ryan Robertson C.Arb FCIArb

The Board of Management shall normally meet not less than six times in a year or with such other frequency as the Chairman of the Board of Management may direct. The quorum for any meeting shall be five voting members.

What the Board of Management is responsible for

To oversee the day-to-day management of the Institute in accordance with the policies formulated and laid down by the Board of Trustees.

To ensure that the Institute’s Secretariat, the Committees and the Branches of the Institute function efficiently in accordance with the said policies, provided that the Professional Conduct Committee shall be independent from and not be subject to the control of the Board of Management, which shall nevertheless ensure that the Board is properly supported.

To formulate all necessary regulations, rules protocols and procedures for approval by the Board of Trustees and, once approved, to implement and enforce them.

(Please note that the above is not an exhaustive list).