Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees currently comprises 12 Elected Trustees with the President attending as an ex officio non-voting member.

The Elected Trustees are:

  • Marion Smith KC FCIArb, Great Britain, Chair
  • Amb. (r) David Huebner C.Arb FCIArb, Americas, Deputy Chair
  • Paul Barrett C.Arb FCIArb, East Asia, Honorary Treasurer
  • Arran Dowling-Hussey FCIArb, Ireland
  • Lucy Greenwood C.Arb FCIArb, Great Britain
  • Andrew Miller KC FCIArb, Great Britain
  • Chikwendu Madumere FCIArb, Africa
  • Theophile Margellos MCIArb, Europe
  • Caroline Kenny KC C.Arb FCIArb, Australasia¬†
  • Prof. Dr Mohamed Abdel Wahab MCIArb, Middle East
  • Ben Giaretta FCIArb, Great Britain

2023 President: John Bassie FCIArb, President ex-officio

The elected Trustees serve for up to two four-year terms, with elections being held on a biennial rotating basis. 

Elected Trustees take up office from 1 January in the year following their election. The maximum continuous period a Trustee can serve for is eight years, after which they must wait at least two years before standing for re-election.

The Board of Trustees elect a Chair of the Board and an Honorary Treasurer on an annual basis.

The elected members of the Board of Trustees are trustees for the membership as a whole (i.e. not regionally representational) and are not permitted to hold any other office nor take up any other appointment within the Institute, while serving as a Trustee.

The Board of Trustees meet four times a year in February, June, September and November and every alternate year, the Board of Trustees' Autumn meeting coincides with the holding of Congress.