Ciarb Young Members Group writing competition 2023



Ciarb is pleased to invite professional members aged 40 years and under to participate in the Ciarb Young Members Group (YMG) 2023 writing competition. The submission deadline is 3 November 2023.


This year’s competition invites participants to step into the shoes of the Secretary General of an arbitral Institution, acting as appointing authority in an investor-state arbitration seated in London, England under the 2013 UNCITRAL rules.


Ciarb’s YMG writing competition will be judged by an editorial jury composed of Zeina Obeid, Sara Nadeau Seguin, Manuel Franco, Caroline Swartz Zern, Benson Lim, Yiwen Huang, Khushboo Shahdadpuri and an honorary jury composed of Prof. Makane Mbengue, Guilherme Santos Silva, Chiann Bao FCIArb and Andrea Pinna.

The winner will be profiled on the Ciarb website and appear in eSolver, Ciarb’s monthly newsletter. They will also be awarded a £100 voucher to attend one of Ciarb’s events in 2024.

Authors of the top three submissions will be invited to moderate one of Ciarb’s Let’s Discuss virtual networking sessions in 2024.

Full details and case material can be found here.


Note for participants

o All participants must be professional members of Ciarb and under the age of 40 on 3 November 2023.

o All submissions must be the original work of their authors.

o Participants may only enter one submission.

o No submissions may be co-authored.


Deadline: 11:00pm (GMT) on 3 November 2023.

Entries should be submitted in word format to: